NASCAR number: Countdown to Daytona

By By The Sports Xchange
POSTED: 12:16 PM PST January 27, 2014    UPDATED: 12:16 PM PST January 27, 2014 

By Reid Spencer

NASCAR Wire Service

Distributed by The Sports Xchange

There are 27 days remaining before the 2014 Daytona 500; hence the number for today is:

27: A car number that has won 52 races in 959 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series starts. Starting with Jimmy Florian in 1950, nine different drivers have won races at NASCAR's highest level in cars sporting No. 27. Florian accounted for one of those victories, followed by Junior Johnson (13), Donnie Allison (5), Benny Parsons (5), Cale Yarborough (5), Tim Richmond (2), Rusty Wallace (18), Jimmy Spencer (2) and Paul Menard (1). Menard is the most recent winner in the No. 27, having taken the checkered for his only NASCAR Sprint Cup win to date in the 2011 Brickyard 400.