Credit union awards scholarships

EUGENE, Ore. - Northwest Community Credit Union has awarded 22 scholarships to students throughout Oregon who have demonstrated dedication to creating a positive impact in their community. Scholarships will be dispersed for the 2017-18 school year and range in value from $1,000 to $5,000.

“Education is crucial for strong local communities. We’re committed to helping students throughout Oregon pay for college,” said Northwest Community Credit Union’s CEO John Iglesias. “These scholarships give the receiving students a chance to follow their dreams and help alleviate the financial burden of pursuing a degree.”

Northwest Community Credit Union received more than 90 scholarship applications. Winners include students new to higher education and continuing students. Scholarship recipients hail from Lane, Benton, Coos, Douglas, Deschutes, Jackson, Multnomah and Harney counties in Oregon.

Two scholarship categories are awarded each year. The Larry Levine Memorial Scholarship honors writer and Assistant Professor Larry Levine, who was killed along with eight Umpqua Community College students in 2015. The scholarship is awarded to Douglas County residents attending Umpqua Community College and covers tuition, books and fees up to $5,000 for the 2017-18 school year. Jenna Anderson of Winchester, Oregon and Samantha Winters of Roseburg, Oregon are this year’s recipients.

The second category—the Northwest Community Scholarship—awards $1,000 to students who demonstrate a dedication to creating a positive impact in their community. Twenty recipients will attend institutions such as Oregon State University, University of Oregon, Lewis and Clark College, Corban University, University of California, Davis and American University, among others.

“Part of our mission at Northwest Community Credit Union is giving back and supporting the people that make up our local communities,” said Northwest Community Credit Union Community Relations Coordinator Kim Clark. “We can’t think of a better way to invest in Oregon than helping the next generation of leaders receive a great higher education.”

The next application period for scholarships will begin February 1, 2018 and applications are accepted via the Northwest Community Credit Union website.

The scholarship awards include:


Tyler Guyer, Redmond, OR

2016 graduate, Redmond High School

College/University: Oregon State University


Gabrielle Sarao, Bend, OR

2017 graduate, Bend High School

College/University: Chapman University


Ambrosia Snapp, Burns, OR

2017 graduate, Burns High School

College/University: Central Oregon Community College

By clicking Submit users are agreeing to follow the Terms of Service
comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular Stories