(CNN) -

Here's a look at the life of filmmaker George Lucas.

Personal: Birth date: May 14, 1944

Birth place: Modesto, California

Birth name: George Walton Lucas, Jr.

Father: George Lucas, Sr., office supply store owner

Mother: Dorothy (Bomberger) Lucas

Marriages: Mellody Hobson (2013-present); Marcia Griffin (1969-1983, divorce)

Children: Adopted with Marcia Griffin: Amanda, 1981; adopted as a single father: Katherine, 1988; Jett, 1993; with Mellody Hobson: Everest (daughter), 2013

Education: Modesto Junior College, A.A., 1964; University of Southern California, B.F.A., 1966

Other Facts: Originally wanted to be a race car driver, but changed his mind after a near fatal car accident.

Teamed with Steven Spielberg to make the "Indiana Jones" series of movies.

Founder of the George Lucas Educational Foundation, which promotes innovation in education.

Nominated for two Daytime Emmy Awards and won two.

Nominated for two Academy Awards.

Timeline: 1967 - Gets an internship at Warner Brothers.

1968 - His short film "Electronic Labyrinth: THX-1138:4EB" wins the best film award at the National Student Film Festival.

1968 - Works as Francis Ford Coppola's assistant during the filming of "The Rain People."

1971- Forms Lucasfilm.

1973 - The film "American Graffiti," co-written and directed by Lucas, is released. It is nominated for five Academy Awards.

1975 - Founds Industrial Light and Magic, a division of Lucasfilm, to create the special effects for "Star Wars." Industrial Light and Magic becomes a leader in the special effects field, working on many films including, "The Abyss," "Jurassic Park," "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest," and "Iron Man."

1977 - "Star Wars," written and directed by Lucas, is released. It wins seven Academy Awards. The title is changed to "Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope" when it is re-released in 1981.

1980 - "Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back" released.

1983 - "Star Wars: Episode VI - The Return of the Jedi" is released.

1992 - Is presented with the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award at 64th Academy Awards.

1999 - "Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace" is released.