BEND, Ore. -

The City of Bend Arts, Beautification & Culture Commission (ABC Commission) is accepting nominations for the ABC Awards 2013. This award honors five individuals, organizations and businesses that have made significant contributions to the City's arts, culture, natural environment or public spaces in the year 2012.

Liz Rink, Co-Chair of the ABC Commission said, “Bend is buzzing with creative energy. We want to honor those who contribute to the arts, beautifying, or the culture of Bend.” The selections are based on an array of criteria including the level of community impact and strength of visitor attraction. In the past, ten awards were presented, but the Commission has decided that fewer awards make it more

Winners in 2012 include: Arts:: Cricket Daniel-Playwright, John Forsen-Chamber Music video, Jill Rosell-“I Love Bend” Facebook page
Beautification:: Doug La Placa-Visit Bend, Paul Stell-Bend Parks and Rec, COIC Transit Station: David Olsen, Architect
Culture :: Betsy Warriner-Volunteer Connect, Tower Theater:LessonPlan, Patty Stell-City Recorder for 31 years, Yogis Unite-YU! event

Award winners are honored by the Mayor at a reception at City Hall held in June.
Nomination Forms are available at the City of Bend website:
Please submit nomination and photo:
Email: as a pdf attachment with photo(s) in high res jpeg format
Fax: 541.382.6676 Please label: ABC Awards 2011, Attn: ABC Chair
Mail: ABC Awards 2011, Attn: ABC Chair, City of Bend, PO Box 431, Bend, OR 97709
The ABC Commission acts as an advisory board for the City of Bend in supporting and encouraging the Arts, Beautification and Culture in our city. The Commission is composed of seven Bend citizens appointed by the Mayor. For more information please contact City Recorder: Robyn Christie at 541.388.5505