Chudowsky told NewsChannel 21's Joe Burns late Tuesday night about the work that went into the successful campaign. He also said residents should get used to him asking a lot of questions.

"We're going to have to subject our city government to a higher level of scrutiny, tougher level of oversight, stronger leadership," he said. "We have to move from kind of a small-town mentality to a medium-sized city mentality."

A four-way race for the open Position 2 council seat was led by Doug Knight with 52 percent, to 23 percent for Ed McCoy, 17 percent for Ed Barbeau and 7 percent for Charles Baer.

The Position 3 results likely were surprising some people, as long-time incumbent councilor Kathie Eckman lost a re-election bid to challenger Sally Russell, 49 to 39 percent, with Ron Boozell third at 12 percent.

But a two-way Position 4 race found incumbent Jim Clinton easily winning another term, 73 percent to 26 percent for Mike Roberts.

In the race for La Pine's first directly elected mayor, Ken Mulenex defeated Stu Martinez,, 53 percent to 44 percent.

The top three vote-getters for Redmond City Council were elected: incumbents Joe Centanni and Camden King at 21 percent and Ginny McPherson over 20 percent, followed by Anne Graham at about 19 percent and Ed Petersen at 17 percent

On the Sisters City Council, also with three top vote-getters being seated, McKibben Womack was top vote-getter at over 30 percent to about 28 percent for Catherine Childress and 24 percent for Brad Boyd, followed by incumbent (and current mayor) Lon Kellstrom, who lost his seat with 16 percent of the vote.

The Sisters Airport annexation proposal won handily, 84 percent to 16 percent.

In Jefferson County, the Madras Aquatic Center District levy was defeated, with returns early Wednesday showing it lost by a 349-vote margin, 2,418 no votes to 2,069 yes votes.

In Crook County, Judge Mike McCabe was defeating challenger Walt Wagner 54 to 45 percent.

Prineville City Councilor Gail Merritt led a five-way race for three seats with 30 percent, followed by newcomer Jason Carr at 24 percent and incumbent Rodney (Jason) Beebe at 20 percent.