2017 Safe Sidewalk Award winners announced

BEND, Ore. - Next week, Deschutes County will honor 16 individuals and businesses for their efforts in keeping Central Oregon’s sidewalks safe for pedestrians.

Deschutes County’s 2017 Safe Sidewalk Awards will be presented at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, June 21, by the Deschutes County Board of Commissioners and the Deschutes County Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (BPAC).  The presentation will take place at the Deschutes Services Center, which is located at 1300 NW Wall Street in Bend.

The 2017 Safe Sidewalk Award winners include:

Individuals: Bryce Duncan, of Redmond; Connor Duncan, of Redmond; Kyle Litttlejohn, of Redmond; John Lucey, of Bend; and Tristin Riley, of Redmond.

Businesses: Bellatazza, Bivens Automotive, Bond Street Barber Shop, Central Oregon Radiology Associates, Downtown Bend Business Association, Empire Stone Company, First Street Business Park, Kendall Automotive, La Pine Ace Hardware, McKay Cottage and the Redmond Fred Meyer.

Each year, Deschutes County honors individuals and local businesses that go above and beyond to keep their sidewalks safe with Safe Sidewalk awards. Along with snow and ice, there are many other sidewalk hazards, such as overgrown landscaping and sprinkler overspray that need attention from property owners throughout the year.  All of these conditions can create challenging and dangerous conditions for pedestrians.

For information on how to nominate a business for a Safe Sidewalk award, please call the Deschutes County Community Development Department at (541) 330-4620.

About the BPAC: The BPAC is an advisory committee of the Deschutes County Commission with a mission to promote and encourage safe bicycling and walking as a significant means of transportation in Deschutes County.

By clicking Submit users are agreeing to follow the Terms of Service
comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular Stories