21 Cares for Kids

Deschutes United Way board members named

BEND, Ore. - The United Way of Deschutes County, now in its 60th year, is pleased to announce the election of 11 new volunteers to its board of directors. 

Our board members leadership, expertise and dedication are invaluable as we continue to bring the community together and raise funds to help kids get a great start in life, keep youth on track for success, help meet basic needs of individuals and families, and help keep people safe from violence and abuse. 

"The Board of Directors brings a wealth of expertise and talent to our organization," explained John Salzer, President of the United Way of Deschutes County, "Each member is actively involved in helping us accomplish our organizational objectives; identifying appropriate community programs for funding; ensuring efficient distribution of contributor dollars and directing the overall impact of our United Way." 

Board members serve a three-year term, conducting, managing and controlling the affairs and activities of the United Way of Deschutes County. They also serve on one or more board committees, such as Communications, Community Impact, Fiscal and Operations, Managed Programs, Nominations, and Resource Development.

Joining the board for a three-year term are: Todd Dunkelberg, Deschutes Public Library; Brenda Finkle, St. Charles Health System; Tyler Friesen, Schmid Malone; Jose Galvan, OnPoint Community Credit Union; Craig Jorgensen, Nativity Lutheran Church; Scot Langton, Deschutes County; Dave Markham, Central Electric Cooperative; Chip Reeves, Bank of the Cascades; Summer Sears, Summer Sears CPA; Ray Spreier, Mid Oregon Credit Union; and Tamara Weber, Robberson Ford.

Those serving a second three-year term are Jan Even, Smith Rock Farm; Cheryl Howard, City of Bend;  Dennis Lynn, OSU Cascades; Greg Pollack, G. Pollack Financial; John Salzer, Sunriver Community Volunteer; Todd Shields, St. Charles Health System and Stan Turel, Helping You Tax & Accounting.

In addition to welcoming the new board members the board elected the following officers to serve a one-year term:  president – John Salzer; 1st vice-president – Corky Senecal; 2nd vice-president – Sean Watt and treasurer – Lisa Ihander.

The United Way of Deschutes County praises the contributions of outgoing board members — Sally Heise, Dennis Luke, and Paul Morton.

With this announcement, the United Way board of directors now has 33 members.

By clicking Submit users are agreeing to follow the Terms of Service
comments powered by Disqus

Most Popular Stories